GBCA honours sustainability leaders of the future

17 Mar 2021

Green Building Council of Australia (GBCA) will today announce the 2021 Green Star Champions and the Future Green Leader of the Year Award winner.

GBCA CEO Davina Rooney says the Green Star Champions recognition acknowledges the ongoing commitment of leaders using Green Star to deliver sustainable buildings and communities that are healthy, resilient and positive.

“The Green Star Champions are ambassadors for Australian excellence in the sustainable transformation of the built environment. Their vision, enthusiasm and tireless contribution to deliver places that respond to the climate challenge through Green Star can’t be overstated,” Ms Rooney said. 

“They are an inspiration to our industry’s future leaders and today we celebrate their work, passion and dedication to lowering emissions through world leading Green Star projects.”  

When receiving the award, Sarah Reid, Net Zero Carbon Buildings Lead, City of Melbourne, said it is an acknowledgement of her efforts and those of the wider industry working towards a more sustainable built environment.  

“I’m delighted to be recognised as a Green Star Champion in 2021. I’m passionate about the potential of our industry to do better, and it’s been fantastic to have been involved with so many people and projects who are striving for excellence,” said Sarah.

Robin Brimblecombe, Engineering & Sustainability Manager, Monash University said he is grateful for the opportunity to collaborate with GBCA and industry to deliver the latest iteration of Green Star.

“Green Star Future Focus is an inspiring and achievable roadmap for an equitable, renewable powered future. I am honoured to have contributed to its development and excited to work with GBCA to make it the new standard for Australian buildings,” said Robin.

This year we also honour Haris Moraitis, Associate Director, HKA. Haris was a Green Star Champion who left an inspiring legacy through his tireless contribution to GBCA, Green Star and the sustainable building movement.

“Haris volunteered on multiple working groups, most recently Green Star Buildings, and as an assessor reviewed more than 200 Green Star projects. This recognition celebrates his achievements and commitment to progress sustainability,” said Ms Rooney.

Each year the Future Green Leader of the Year Award judging panel is presented with a list of young professionals armed with fresh perspectives. This year’s four finalists were Sarah Lawlor, Tatiana Schönhöbel, Kate Rowan and HY William Chan.

“These future leaders are already driving meaningful change within the built environment. The judging panel was once again impressed with the standard of nominations, however there can only be one winner, and that’s Kate Rowan,” Ms Rooney said.

Kate is a sustainability professional with over five years’ experience in major infrastructure projects and is currently driving long-term change as a Sustainability Advisor on the Metro Tunnel Project in Melbourne.

The judges said Kate has the tenacity, vision and commitment that allows her to take on difficult issues while demonstrating impact at scale. They also noted Kate shares results freely with industry to increase replicability, making her an ideal ambassador for GBCA’s vision and values.

Kate said the recognition will help her to continue to drive the transformation that’s already underway, “I hope to lead, educate and inspire the building industry to investigate how it creates social value, and implement programs that create real change for people and places.”

The judges highly commended Tatiana Schönhöbel, a sustainability consultant with Integral Group. Impressed by Tatiana’s “infectious enthusiasm and drive”, they said her ability to make valuable connections between people and ideas to accelerate change is a hallmark of a true leader in the making.

GBCA thanks our Future Green Leader Supporting partner, Lendlease, and applauds these leaders who are driving the sustainability agenda in Australia.

2021 Green Star Champions  

  • Adriaan Window, ANZ Sustainability Practice Leader, AECOM 
  • Alex Rosenthal, Associate Arup Sydney Buildings, Arup  
  • Andrew Bishop, Manager Sustainability Project Delivery, Renewal SA 
  • Andrew Scerri, National Urban Regeneration Manager, Lendlease Building  
  • Axl Driml, Principal Sustainability Manager, Department of Energy and Public Works 
  • Ben Gibbs, Sustainability Consultant, WSP 
  • Chewy Chang, Sustainability Manager, Lendlease Building  
  • Corey Peterson, Sustainability Manager Strategy and Policy Infrastructure Services and Development, University of Tasmania 
  • Darren Teoh, General Manager Sustainability - Real Estate, AMP Capital Investors  
  • David Collins, Associate, Cundall 
  • David Palin, Sustainability Manager - Mirvac Asset Management, Mirvac Projects  
  • Evalin Ling, Probuild 
  • Fin Robertson, Sustainability Specialist, Level Crossing Removal Project (LXRP) 
  • Haico Schepers, Principal, Arup  
  • Haris Moraitis, Associate Director, HKA 
  • Joe Karten, National Sustainability Manager, Built 
  • Margot Black, Head of Sustainability and Community, Charter Hall  
  • Owen Grace, Sustainability Coordinator, Multiplex Australasia  
  • Parag Shinde, Senior Manager - Energy and Sustainability, Property NSW 
  • Prasanna Suraweera, ESD Section Manager (Principal), Stantec 
  • Richard Jelbert, Senior ESD Consultant, Norman Disney & Young 
  • Robert Cooke, General Manager, FEC Operations  
  • Robin Brimblecombe, Engineering & Sustainability Manager, Monash University 
  • Rocio Bona, Strategic Asset Planning Principal Properties Facilities and Development, Curtin University 
  • Sarah Kaleta, Sustainability Manager, Richard Crookes Constructions  
  • Sarah Reid, Net Zero Carbon Buildings Lead, City of Melbourne 
  • Sean Holmes, Senior Sustainability Consultant, WSP  
  • Simone Concha, Executive Manager Sustainability, Western Sydney Airport Corporation