The Green Star Advisory Committee and supporting advisory groups ensure the Green Star rating system continues to be Australia’s leading rating tool for the built environment. They also ensure continuous improvement of the certification process, and increase industry participation in Green Star.

Nominations are now open for our Panels and Advisory groups.

Learn more

Green Star Advisory Committee

The Green Star Advisory Committee assists and advises our Executive Team and Board on all matters relating to the development of Green Star and ensure that the Green Star rating system remains rigorous, market relevant and valued by industry. The committee ensures that a consensus process continues to be used to evolve Green Star in accordance with our mission and strategic plan.

Green Star Advisory Committee members are sustainability leaders with experience in governance and stakeholder engagement, and have an understanding of rating systems and the role played by independent certification in driving change. They hold senior positions and have an understanding of the economic, social and environmental drivers that affect the adoption of sustainable building practices internationally.

The Charter for the Green Star Advisory Committee is available here

Committee members

Industry Advisory Group

The Industry Advisory Group supports staff and the Green Star Advisory Committee as it provides insight into industry activity and trends, and makes recommendations to increase the adoption of Green Star.

The terms of reference are available here.

Industry Advisory Group members

  • Andrew Cole – Lendlease (Chair)
  • Alicia Maynard – ISPT  
  • David Waldren – Vicinity   
  • Greg Ryan – Landcorp
  • James Vesper – Goodman   
  • Margot Black – Charter Hall  
  • Rich Palmer – Integral Group    
  • Sarah Reid – City of Melbourne 
  • Simon Wilson – RDT Pacific (representing NZGBC)

Technical Advisory Group

The Green Star Technical Advisory Group (TAG) has been created to ensure Green Star remains technically rigorous, flexible and relevant to industry. 

The Technical Advisory Group provides support to staff and the Green Star Advisory Committee in developing appropriate technical guidance and direction for current and future rating tools and other initiatives. It is tasked with assisting in the development of Green Star; reporting and making recommendations on matters relating to rating tool development, and addressing and reporting stakeholder comments on Green Star.

The terms of reference are available here

Technical Advisory Group members

  • David Clark – Cundall (Chair)
  • Barbara Nebel – Thinkstep
  • Gerard Healey – University of Melbourne  
  • Greg Johnson – Stockland    
  • Rob Johnson – Liberty Steel  
  • Robyn Hyslop – Lendlease 
  • Stefan Preuss – Office of the Victorian Architect 
  • Leena Thomas – University of Technology  
  • Sam Archer – NZGBC

Homes Advisory Panel

The Green Star Advisory Committee has established the Homes Advisory Panel to assist and advise on all matters relating to the development of the Green Star Homes Standard. 

The Homes Advisory Panel is responsible for ensuring that Green Star Homes drives sustainable outcomes in the housing sector, enables market transformation, and is valued by the housing industry. The introduction of this Standard and its certification process is part of the Future Homes Strategy released by GBCA in May 2020.

The terms of reference are available here

Homes Advisory Panel members 

Lauren Kajewski – Landcom (Chair)

Anthony Wright – CSIRO/ASBEC

David McKibbin – Metricon

Dr Georgia Warren-Meyers – University of Melbourne

Matthew Napper – Stockland

Ryan Rathborne – Clean Energy Finance Corporation

Tom Davies – Insurance Council of Australia 

Expert Reference Panels

Expert Reference Panels assist with a defined topic of engagement. Panels are appointed by us and are made up of our members who have experience and expertise on the relevant topic. 

Greenhouse Gas Emissions

Adriaan Window – AECOM, Alison Read – National Australia Bank, Andrew Thai – Frasers Property, Chris Nunn – AMP, David Barker – Integral Group, David Clark – Cundall, Dennis Lee – NABERS, Esther Bailey – City of Sydney, Hannah Blossom – Irwinconsult, Karla Fox-Reynolds – Curtin University, Komali Yenneti – University of New South Wales, Michelle Brownlie – WSP Australia, Patrick Campbell – Hutchinson Builders, Paul Bannister – Energy Action, Quentin Jackson – Aurecon, Richard Jelbert – NDY.
Life Cycle Assessment
Choonghan Yeo - The GPT Group, Darryl Stuckey - Lendlease, James Logie - WSP, Jeff Vickers - thinkstep, Jonas Bengtsson - Edge Environment, Judith Schinabeck - GECA, Lewis Hewton - Cundall, Phye Ibbotson – Mirvac.
Clare Parry – Grün Consulting, Greg Johnson – Stockland, Hannah Morton – Cundall, Jeremy Mansfield – Lendlease, Jonathan Fox – UNSW, Rebecca Miller – AECOM, Robert Turk – Arup, Steven McKellar – City of Port Phillip, Troy Powell – Telstra Corporation.
Abigail Campion – JLL, Ben O'Callaghan – Ecomplish Sustainability, Dominique Hes – University of Melbourne, Jeff Robinson – Aurecon,  Katherine Featherstone – Stockland, Lucinda Hartley – CoDesign Studio, Michael Stokoe – Transport for NSW, Paul Stoller – Atelier Ten, Rory Martin – Frasers Property, Sharon Veale – GML Heritage.
Human Rights
Amira Hashemi – Frasers Property, Christina Hughes – Charter Hall, Clare Gallagher – Built, James Arvanitakis – Western Sydney University, Libby Staggs – Sustainable Business Matters, Nathan Robertson-Ball – CBA, Nicole Thompson – Edge Environment, Rikki-Lea James – WSP, Stephan Gabadou – KPMG, Zoe Koskinas – Lendlease.

Ecology & Biodiversity

Austin O'Malley – Eco Logical Australia, Elham Monavari – Transport for NSW, Ian Adams – Organica Engineering, James Fitzsimons – The Nature Conservancy, Jessica Holtz – Aurecon, Joana Almeida – Edge Environment, Kristie Martin – Viridis Australasia, Sean Holmes – WSP, Vicky Critchley – Elton Consulting.

Building Developments and Contracts

Claire Hashman – Dexus, Darren Teoh – AMP Capital, David Collins – Cundall, Deborah Davidson – Dsquared, Graham Agar – FCDS, Lisa Hinde – JLL, Luke Kewell – Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure, Neil Caswell – ECS, Nermine Zahran – Gensler, Owen Grace – Multiplex, Simone Delaney – Frasers Property, Russell Ross – Stockland.

Sustainable Precincts 

Lauren Kajewski – Landcom, Jess Stewart – Riverview Projects, Karen Woo – Frasers Property, Matthew Pike – Full Circle Design, Deborah Davidson - dsquared Consulting, Oliver Grimaldi – Cundall, Rod Brown – PTW, Orlando Harrison – Tract, Matthew Napper – Stockland, Samantha Peart – Development Victoria, Roger Swinbourne – Arup, Andrew Mackenzie – AILA.

Health and Wellbeing

Adam Garnys – CETEC, Alexander Kobler – Wood & Grieve, Ben Gibbs – WSP, Christhina Candido – University of Sydney, Emma Mcmahon – CBRE, Haris Moraitis – HKA, Jeremie Henry – Somfy, Lisa Manion – CBA, Lucy Pullin – Mirvac, Natalie Cahill – Cundall, Philippa Soccio – University of Melbourne, Sue Solly – Geyer, Sean Kahn – Frasers Property. 

Materials and Supply Chain

Esther Bailey – City of Sydney, Rob Johnson – Liberty Steel,  Rod Vockler – Dulux, Kate Harris – GECA, David Baggs – Global GreenTag, Rob Kilgour – WSP, Tony Dixon – Australian Steel Institute, Stephen Mitchell – SMA Associates, Sophi MacMillan – Vinyl Council Australia.