I’m new to GBCA professional development

Welcome to our Continuing Professional Development (CPD) program

The CPD program allows professionals to be recognised for their knowledge and contribution to building a more sustainable built environment. The program offers two qualifications: 

  • Green Star Accredited Professional
  • Green Star Associate

Green Star Accredited Professional

The Green Star Accredited Professional (GSAP) qualification allows green building professionals who work with Green Star rating tools to participate in ongoing training that is useful and relevant to their specialised Green Star work. Individuals who have achieved Green Star Accredited Professional status have unique benefits which include the following:

  • Recognition of Leadership and expertise in the Green Star rating system. Becoming a qualified GSAP means professionals have taken time to understand the rating tool, why it is important and how it will assist in improving more sustainable outcomes.
  • Futureproofing careers. With over 1000 Certified Green Star projects, demand for qualified professionals continues to grow. Industry demand continues to grow and having this expertise is a must!
  • Demonstration of commitment to ongoing professional development. GSAP’s are committed to ongoing, annual learning.

Steps to become a GSAP.

There are four simple steps to becoming a recognised GSAP:

  1. Attend a Green Star Foundation courseThe Green Star Foundation course is an interactive, face-to-face course designed to give participants an introduction to the fundamentals that underpin the Green Star rating tool. Three specific foundation courses have been developed which include Green Star Design & As Built, Green Star Performance, and Green Star Communities. Participants select the foundation course for their respective interest or discipline and attend. Upon registration for a Green Star Foundation Course, participants are automatically enrolled in the CPD program.
  2. Pass the GSAP online exam. Before becoming a GSAP, participants are required to pass an exam to test their comprehension of the Green Star rating system and relevant Foundation course content. The exam is both online and open book.
  3. Log in to the CPD portal and maintain ongoing learning requirements. 

Green Star Associate

The Green Star Associate (GSA) qualification recognises professionals who understand the fundamentals of sustainability in the build environment, and the role Green Star plays in this. The GSA qualification acknowledges the commitment of those who support green design, construction and operation, but who are not directly involved in Green Star project work or submissions. GSA’s can play a strong role in organisational commitment to built environment sustainability help communicate the language of sustainability. 

Steps to becoming a GSA.

The three simple steps to becoming a recognised GSA are:

  1. Attend a Green Star Foundation course
  2. Log in to the CPD portal and maintain ongoing learning requirements

Maintaining qualifications

Both professional qualifications include an individual’s commitment to ongoing professional training and development of the course of the 12 month CPD period. To maintain a GSAP qualification, participants will need to achieve a minimum of 15 CPD points within the 12 month CPD period, whilst GSA qualifications require a minimum of 8 CPD points.

What is our CPD program?

  • specialised training and education
  • a valuable accreditation that differentiates professionals within the market place; and
  • a forum for knowledge-sharing and engagement with other green building leaders.

Take the first step and book yourself into a Foundation Course. 

Then begin the CPD program.

Go to the course calendar
gbca Course Calendar